Brookes Women equal best ever Women’s Head performance

Four BROOKES|Rowing eights travelled to London on Sunday to compete in the first edition of Women’s Head of the River Race in Four years. With 275 crews racing it was set to be a great display of Women’s rowing on a blustery day. After a successful set of races as a part of the Fixture Series, the Brookes Women were eager to show their improvements so far this season.

The Women’s 1st VIII, coxed by Harry Brightmore and also featuring Netherlands Rowing team member Tinka Offereins, started in 4th. With some exceptional rowing, Brookes were able to overtake Imperial College at Hammersmith and the University of London at the Mile Post. They claimed a memorable 2nd place overall. Nearly 25 seconds faster than the next Fastest University 1st VIII. The result matched the best in the boat clubs history, equalling the result back in 2008.

The 2nd VIII put in a great row, closing the gap to UL who started ahead finishing as the Fastest University 2nd VIII.  They improved their finish position at the 2018 Head claiming 15th position.

The strength and depth developing throughout the group in recent years was demonstrated with the 3rd VIII equalling their finish position of 2018. They overtook University of Bristol’s 1st Eight and were the Fastest University 3rd VIII.

For the first time in the club’s history, Brookes boated a 4th VIII. With a great row and some invaluable experience gained by the crew as they crossed the line finishing in 55th place. The Fastest University 4th VIII.

Some fantastic results and smiles all round after racing concluded on Saturday. The group take some vital experience and understanding of their improvements on to the next part of their season. BROOKES|Rowing look forward to watching and supporting the whole of the Women’s team as they step towards side by side racing beginning in April.

1st VIII
Martha Birtles
Mckenna Simpson
Jasmine Bowers
Grace Richards
Tinka Offereins
Brenna Randall
Olivia White
Aisling Hayes
c Harry Brightmore

2nd VIII
Arianna Forde
Jenny Bates
Freya Williamson
Shereen Miers
Anna Bloomer
Jemima Furness
Taylor Caudle
Jade Colton
c Sofia Bernal

3rd VIII
Brookmyer McIntyre
Jordan Simper
Maisie Gordon
Sayaka Chajo
Sina Schaefer
Lucy Bird
Jen Hoffman
Phoebe Fletcher
c Emily Mears

4th VIII
Emma Stilwell
Harriet Haysom
Frankie Allen
Jess Foster
Ella Wilson
Nicole Smart
Belle Stevens
Freya Sharp
c Amie Jones